share on facebook / mail:

Foundational Exercise 5

essence – heart

Approximately thirty centimetres above the top of the head is a point that is referred to as the essence point. This point has been described as an opening towards a different dimension, where the higher potentials of a person can be contacted. The heart chakra is in the centre of the chest. It is the place in the physical body where one’s identity has a natural focal point. Combining the essence point with the heart points towards a process of manifestation of potentials and deeper talents. The following version of the exercise underlines its outgoing and giving aspect.

The exercise begins in the essence point. On the inbreath, energy and attention are moved down to the crown and onward through the centre of the head and throat down to the heart chakra in the middle of the chest. On the outbreath, energy and attention are moved out through the front of the chest and further outwards. After the outbreath is complete, awareness moves back to the essence point and a new movement downward to the heart begins with the next inbreath.

Do the exercise for about five minutes.

Before you start the exercise:

Find a peaceful place to sit comfortably in a chair or on a cushion on the floor. Take a moment to sense your body, your breathing. Let the mind gently settle and prepare yourself to begin the exercise.
End your exercise by focusing your attention on your whole body and get a sense of how it feels to be present right now, this very moment.

Do the exercise for about five minutes.

<< Foundational Exercise 4: yin – yang circulation


The five foundational exercises move or circulate respiratory energy along specific pathways in the body. Four of the exercises use a traditional mapping of energies in the body, while one exercise uses two channels described in traditional Chinese medicine.

Four of the exercises were formulated in this form by Jes Bertelsen, while the pineal-solar plexus-throat exercise stems from Bob Moore’s teachings. The exercises have been used in the past fourty years by literally thousands of people in connection with teachings at the Vaekstcenter.

The full programme of exercises is normally done in the following order: 1) pineal—hara, 2) crown—root, 3) pineal—solar plexus—throat (also called the double C), 4) the yin-yang circulation, and 5) essence—heart. For a beginner it is possible for a period of time to train only two of the exercises: 1) pineal—hara, and 2) essence—heart. If one wishes to add just one more exercise, one can use 1) pineal—hara, 2) yin-yang circulation, and 3) essence—heart.